22 comments on “The Longest Walk ….

  1. Such a powerful story. My heart rate increased fourfold just reading it. There is a reason seatbelts are mandatory and mobile phone use is illegal and this tragic event is evidence of those reasons

  2. Pingback: Nothing Else To Do « Constable Chaos – UK Police Blog

  3. Reblogged this on policewifeblog and commented:
    Could you/Would you?
    – I am thankful to those that do.
    I’m also not ashamed to say that I cried when reading this blog.
    Perhaps when you read the ‘longest walk’ it will touch your heart and give you an understanding that behind the uniform are real people who care.

    Sadly, as I write this comment I am sure somewhere in the UK another Officer is at this very moment walking up to a families door with news that will change their life forever.

  4. What an excellent blog.

    Anyone who has had to do this will know how much it affects you.

    And agree with the comments from motorists, I for one am fed up with them

  5. That was a very thoughtful, well written, but utterly sad post – thank you very much for posting it and I hope doing so has helped you get beyond the burden of that incident.

  6. Only had to do this once and the lady knew, still wrenches the heart now over a year later…..

    Again, it doesn’t tick boxes or use powers but it’s what we do

  7. I flip through blog entries all day long, speed reading them – but within the first paragraph I was forced to start again and read this thoroughly.
    An utterly brilliant post, sobering, self effacing and utterly compelling.
    Can I have permission to reprint this at some point? You have my e-mail address.

  8. I was pointed here by Anna Raccoon, almost in tears and feeling anger after reading this, I will visit again.
    Motorists just don’t seem to get it, do they?
    Keep up the good work.

  9. I did this walk once, 22 years ago and the victim was a child who had been playing “chicken” on a dual carriageway. I still think of him and his family on a regular basis – I don’t think I’ll ever forget. I also think of the guy who was driving the car that hit him, and the woman who saw what the kids were doing and turned her car round to tell them to stop, only to get back there too late. There are always more victims than are obvious.

  10. Never had to do it. Don’t ever want to do it. Don’t ever want anyone to have to do it for me. Have always worn a seatbelt and always made sure that those in a vehicle with me have worn theirs.

  11. A moving story mate and sadly one i’ve done a few times too. Worst place in the world is on ‘that’ doorstep.

  12. wow that was really well written – i could feel the passion put into writing this – i have to admit it did bring a tear to my eye x

  13. Superbly written … I now see why you had the mega long shift …. So glad I found all these ‘Job’ blogs… It seems mine has some techno issues which is preventing comments being added.. At least I hope that’s the case !!!

  14. As proof of the effectiveness of seatbelts, I was a DC on Photo Dept. in Hampshire when the legislation was introduced. The majority of my overtime was call outs to serious / fatal RTA’s, my overtime halved overnight.

  15. I spend most of my working day driving minibuses around full of eldely people. Its part of my job to “belt them in” most are happy to wear their seat belts, but there are a few who use every excuse not too. I wish I had the time to show this to them. All I can tell them is “Its company policy, no belt no trip ” it works to a degree. But after reading this it might bring it home.

  16. I can totally sympathise for this officer having had to do this myself. And suffer the onslaught of disbelief from the distressed family. It is all to common – we had another one last night with young girl driving, lad alongside her with seat belts, and another in the back sitting between the seats, no doubt leaning forward against the front seats chatting away. And only aged 25.

  17. Been out for two years, this brought back all the memories as a Traffic FLO.
    Utmost respect for all still dealing with these needless road deaths. Take care of yourselves.

  18. Over 30 years service this was the one job that I can say used to scare me stiff. I would rather have faced a villan with a gun than take that oh so long walk and say those words that nobody ever wanted to hear. Not one officer that I knew ever felt that they were able to do it in the right way.Perhaps because there never was or is a right way to pass on such devastaing news. I felt so guilty as if it was my fault that I had to say those words. I never ever did it without crying before or after the event. Even the fact that it affected me so badly made me feel guilty that if I felt the way I felt how on earth did the recipient of such dreadful news feel. I loved my time in the police but I hated not only having to do it but I felt so useless that I was unable to put everything right for the people involved. Can anybody explain to me why anyone puts themselves at such risk and cause so much pain to those they leave behind ?

Leave a Reply

