14 comments on “The Days The Earth Stood Still

  1. Beautifully written, Chaos. Being across the pond it was difficult for me to find news coverage of the honor guard response and you have helped me to be present to help honor the two constables who perished so cruelly. Bravo to you and your colleagues on police forces all over Britain and thank you.

  2. “Could it be repeated ?”

    Of course it can but I hope and pray that it won’t have to be repeated. This has shown that all UK police officers and support staff are a united service in many ways.

    As a retired member of the police support staff I’m proud of what was done for these two fine officers and their famiies.

  3. A beautifully written blog , be proud of what you and your colleagues did in Manchester. Ican understand why you worried maybe no one would turn up but the feeling that i got from twitter it really doesn’t surprise me that the numbers were as they were. I am out of the country so missed much of the coverage but this blog has really given such a great sense of how it was it is almost like I was there. Tears hav been shed as I read this, it’s not easy to get the sense of emotion down in words but you have truly managed to do so and I thank you for that.

  4. Fantastic read Chaos. One of a few blogs j have read & a tremendous outcome. I am saddened I could not attend being that I was out of the country prior to a date being released and then not back until the 5th.
    It is spectacular to read stories of transport being covered on presentation of warrant cards and flowers given out and of so many that gave up their time to line the route. Police and Public alike.
    I hope that the direct families are proud of their extended family for coming out and showin their respect, extended family of course extending to the fire personnel and ambulance staff that also attended in uniform and of the Prison Service as well coming together to unite as one.
    HoldTheLine
    RIP
    Thank You Chaos.

  5. Chaos, you have moved me to tears this evening, I volunteered my support, knowing as a mere Special my force would probably not send me, but I was there, shoulder to shoulder with you all in my mind.
    I’ve been a Special for 22 years, and I’ve felt a great gut wrenching sense of loss with every officer who falls in the line of duty, I may not of known them, yet, I do know them, I hope and pray that these terrible events will never happen again, that we will never again lose a colleague, but with heavy heart, I know that the time will come. When it does, I will volunteer again, and if not chosen, I will be there in spirit.
    Thank you for allowing me to be there with your blog, now it’s time to dry my tears and sleep, stay safe out there.

  6. The loss of our fallen colleagues Fiona and Nicola hit us all so hard in the police services, I don’t think anyone could have imagined the devastating effect this would have on not only the police services as a whole, but also on a very shocked and saddened general public. I felt like this was a personal lost to me and I’m not ashamed to say I shed a tear as I grieved for their family of our fallen colleagues
    Ladies you will always be in the hearts and minds of your colleagues across the nation as the go out day to day carrying out their duties to serve and protect the public of Great Britain , I guess out of such an horrendous tragedy a positive has shone through…… I’m proud of what Nicola and Fiona stood and fell for and I like thousands of colleagues across the lands will continue to wear our uniform with a renewed pride as we step out onto what has always been an uncertain beat.

  7. Mr Chaos, I was reduced to tears half way through your very touching account and inconsolable by the end. I hope that the fantastic tribute to the two girls will never have to be repeated for any other colleague but feel comforted in the knowledge that if need be, we can be relied upon to do the our own proud.

  8. Choas I like you stood shoulder to shoulder with colleagues on Deansgate. The world most definately stood still as the funeral cortege passed, the silence broken only by horses hooves can not be described, the feeling of sorrow was immense. I do not know either of the officers but I felt compelled to be there. Your blog is very well written.

  9. I was one of those people who just felt i needed to go and show my thanks to all the police. You protect and serve the public every day. I could not do your job and so respect each and every one of you. Thank you. Unfortunately Fiona and Nicola paid the ultimate price for being a serving PC. So very, very sad for your loss. Keep making us proud. I was so moved to see how everyone came together. Peter Fahy should be very proud of you all. RIP Brave ladies. I thank you both from the bottom of my heart.

  10. What a lovely peace, had tears in my eyes just reading it. You all did a superb job organising so many people to go there via twitter etc. God bless you all.

  11. Have you ever thought about writing an ebook or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog centered on the same topics you discuss and
    would really like to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my visitors would enjoy your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me
    an email.

  12. Hi there would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re using?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different browsers and I must say this
    blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you recommend a good
    hosting provider at a fair price? Thank you, I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

